Quinoa & Red Cabbage Salad

quinoa-red-cabbage-saladTrue confessions: I am on a mission to lose weight.

It’s an odd goal for me, to tell the truth: I have often trained to get fit in order to improve my performance in some sport or another – soccer, kayaking, rock climbing, hiking – but rarely do I simply want to change the number on the scale. In fact, I haven’t even owned a scale for at least a decade. I had to buy one recently in order to keep track of this recent, rather unusual goal.

As a woman of a certain age, whose birthday in September nudged me ever closer to the half-century mark, this autumn I took stock: I was not happy with the unfamiliar and annoying baggage planted around my middle. (I’ve always put on weight mostly in my butt, thighs and hips, but not so in the 40’s my friends, more’s the pity

View original post 942 more words